Like Bandy, Bandy…

BANDYFEATURELG

There has to be some Zap Mama fans out there!!! I had the opportunity to see her live a few years ago and it was such a great experience. So if you haven’t heard Zap Mamas music before be sure to check out Youtube if you like Afro-Pop.


This July 4th was a wet one, but it didn’t matter I still had a great holiday and BIRTHDAY!!! WHOOP WHOOP!  Got some cool gifts that I can’t wait to use, namely a remote for my Canon…I think that was a hint lol!  I hope you guys enjoyed your holiday as well!


 I made this skirt with the intention of wearing it out to my birthday dinner, but was told to get Grown & Sexy, and while this look is funky and edgy (more my speed), I didn’t feel confident in the grown and sexy aspect of it….What do you think?  Either way, I wanted to make a skirt using my dashiki fabric from Tambo Collections for quite some time.  I definitely plan on making a dashiki, but I mean I had to jump on the dashiki print skirt train to!  I love to see the maxi versions of the skirt, they are all BEAUTIFUL!, but I had my heart set on a mini (not risqué) version.

Let me first start by saying I am no way an expert or experienced sewer.  Yeah I’ve made a few garments and even some Ginger Jeans ( I made freakin’ jeans!!!!), but I still consider myself a beginner.  Does anyone know what criteria you should use to classify your sewing skill level?

With that being said, I completely freestyled this skirt!!!  No pattern, no Youtube tutorials, just me and my basic knowledge of sewing.  Did I mention I also installed a zip and pockets and serged every single piece? Oh, I didn’t? Well yeah I did all that shit!


When I make a garment that I think my Sew Mother would be proud of, I say self “you made love to this fabric!”.  Why yes I did!  I used my waist measurement and added 1″ (for seam allowance) to create my waistband.  My waist band is 3″, so I doubled that and added another 1″ for seam allowance.  My skirt consists of 3 panels (had to add pockets somehow) and is the width of the fabric used, which I think is 45″ by the length of the skirt 21″ (again seam allowance added). I then gathered my fabric until it was the width of my waistband and attached.

I’m really proud of my garment and plan to wear it almost every weekend this summer(…I kid…or maybe not).


“Like Bandy Bandy, wave your body”- Zap Mama, Bandy Bandy

Leave a comment